top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

QUARANTINE TIMES: WHEN THE WORLD IS SICK

Updated: Oct 21, 2020


"I've been in home isolation for about two weeks now. Just me and five other people living in my house. I actually miss going to school and being around 1000 other kids who aren't my siblings, no offense.


"Being away from school this long probably would be a dream under different circumstances. But I realize on a daily basis that this is not a vacation. It's possibly the end of the world as we know it. Since the only thing I can do is sit in the house all day, I had a lot of time to think about all kinds of things. But my most frequent thought is the fact that we currently might be at the end of the world.


"I feel as though everyone, especially in the U.S., automatically assumes that the coronavirus is eventually going to go away. I'm not usually a conspiracy theorist but being alone with my thoughts has sort of turned me. I check twitter every morning to get my world news and celebrity drama; who even watches TV anymore?


"OK, anyway, on twitter I see that each day, the number of coronavirus cases and deaths are increasing and there is still no vaccine or cure. The people of the world usually just assume the whole situation will eventually pass, or they don't take it seriously all together. The lack of experience this current generation has with viruses and pandemics is the reason why it continues to spread.


"People still go out and hang out with their friends and even a school in New York allowed students to come back and some students contracted coronavirus symptoms


"Of course I've been sick before and had to stay inside to get better just like anyone else.

My mom had always assured me that I would get better and I eventually did because of the medicine and care I received, but how can the world recover if there is still no cure or even a vaccine? How can we return to regular life with the issue that is destroying the world, not yet having a solution?


"All I'm saying is what if it doesn't get better or stop spreading? What if we are now living in the beginning of the worldwide apocalypse?

"Or maybe I'm just bored out of my mind. Regardless, it's just a theory."

~~ Ailani K. Mitchell. Interviewed by True Magwood (Class of '22)

 

THIS IS A WORRYING TIME FOR EVERYONE. PLEASE TAKE THE WORRY OFF A FELLOW GATOR'S MIND BY DONATING WITH A CLICK OF THE BUTTON. THANK YOU.

11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page