top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

+ POWERFUL: STILL SMILING UNDER THE MASK

Updated: Nov 10, 2020

A few weeks ago fall semester started for most kids at Allegheny College; what a wild ride it was to get here, there was some uncertainty, but we made it!


This semester I'm staying in Walker Hall, which is connected to Brooks Hall; a highlight of living here is being able to walk through the connecting buildings to go get food throughout the day. I’m not usually much of a breakfast person, but during the first week of school, I had gone a few times to either the Pine Market or Brooks Dining Hall fo, for lack of a better term, brunch.

There are members of the Parkhurst and Allegheny Dining team that carry great attitudes and affect the people they interact in a positive way. When I went into the Pine Market that morning, I was greeted by Yvonne. Seeing her last year was always a delight, and this year it is just as lovely. As I was getting ready to pay for my meal, Yvonne and I talked for a few minutes about how convenient living in Walker/Brooks Hall was in the winter, but truly it’s convenient all seasons of the year. Although it was short, talking to her made my day better because it’s a joy to see her. Even now, she sees a lot of students each day. She only saw me for a little, but she’s always cheerful and happy when I see her and when she interacts with everyone.

"Even under the mask, she can bring a smile to anyone’s face at Allegheny."

~~ Kylie Rimes, Class of '23

 

The community at Allegheny College is an important part of what the college offers. Donate by clicking the link and supporting the school and our community.

5 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page