top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

+ POWERFUL: TRAVELING THROUGH TIMEZONES

Updated: Nov 10, 2020

My name is Rutendo Mavunga, and I am a first-year student from Zimbabwe at Allegheny College. Studying remotely as an international student has been quite an experience from coming into a new learning system, to getting to know new people across the world to get up at midnight to attend some of my lessons. Needless to say, I have embraced the journey every step of the way.


My mantra for this semester has been life is like your favorite book--no matter what, you have to keep reading to see the exciting things are ahead of you. This semester, like for many, has been like no other but I have appreciated the continued support of the Allegheny faculty, my friends, and my family. Surviving through a pandemic should come with a handbook! Somehow we all have managed to adjust and adapt to what is potentially the new norm.


Regardless of the challenges of being remote, I have enjoyed my classes and learned a lot more than I thought I would through the various courses that I am currently taking. The professors have been impeccable organized, professional, and helpful during this semester which has made my experience much more bearable. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to participate in a lot of other activities outside of my academics because of the time zones. Regardless, I am excited to be on campus a get to know more about myself and the opportunities Allegheny has to offer.


~~ Rutendo Mavunga, Class of '24

 

Allegheny College has done a great job of remote learning through this pandemic. Click on the link to support our school and everything they do for our little community!



27 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page