top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

+ POWERFUL: FEAR TO FUN

Updated: Nov 10, 2020


I was honestly scared when I moved onto Allegheny’s campus. It’s funny because I can’t exactly label what I was scared of: was it because I was living with someone I had never met before? Was it because I knew I wasn’t going to see my pets for the next three months? Was it the possibility of not making any friends? Or was it that I was actually starting college, a freshman, all over again? I do not know.


I can tell you, though, that I’m not a very sociable person, it’s just not in my nature. I need someone to walk up to me in order to start a conversation. Luckily, with some help, I found the best group of friends on campus. My roommate, Samone, is amazing. Sadly, she had to move back home for the rest of the semester, but I really miss our late-night hour-long chats and watching Silence of the Lambs together. Maddie and Marshal, in truth, have been a Godsend. Maddie took it upon herself to name our little group “CEO’s of nom nom nom with four emojis (salad, pizza, watermelon, and shrimp).” No guarantees we’ll tell you why, but you’re more than welcome to ask. They have brought so much laughter into my life here at Allegheny. Emmalee has also been an amazing friend. Our love for so many movies and television shows is crazy. Going on about Hannibal versus the movie series (if you’ve ever watched either), it’s a long conversation. Orchesis has also been a lifesaver. I love my group and our dance (Go Sam!). Everyone is so nice and supportive. When I remember we only have three more weeks left, I want to cry.


I guess my purpose for writing this is to tell others that being scared is normal. It’s not a wrong feeling. I’m still scared and stressed half the time, but it has been my friends and involvement with groups such as ACO, GCS, Orchesis, JaDE, Equestrian, and others that have helped tremendously.


~~ Cassie Skweres, Class of '24






 

Organizations like Orchesis, JaDE, GCS and others need support from students and alumni. Click the link to donate and support your Allegheny Clubs!

7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page