top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

GATOR SNAPSHORT: WRITING OFF TOXICITY

Updated: Oct 21, 2020

Writing has helped me get through some really hard times. In my junior year of high school, my “so called best friend” would lash out at me and blame me for everything that was going on in his life. The worst part is… I believed him. I was in a toxic relationship. 


The thing that got me through all of this was writing. I wrote poetry, short stories, and

made diary entries about our relationship. Writing helped me work through my emotions and became the one constant source of strength throughout all this turmoil. When I look back at my writings now, I know that I made the right decision to cut ties with my “friend.”


I wouldn’t change what happened because it’s made it easier for me now to pick out and discard the toxic people in my life. I’m in a much better place. 


~~ Christina Kljunich '23, English Major




Want to make new friends? Join one of Allegheny’s many clubs! https://sites.allegheny.edu/studentinvolvement/student-organizations/

 

WE NEVER KNOW WHAT FOLKS ARE STRUGGLING WITH. WITH ONE CLICK YOU CAN HELP A FELLOW GATOR FEEL SUPPORTED. WILL YOU?

27 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page