top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

SPARKS: I'M STILL WAITING



Sparks I’m Still Waiting For


are like shadows resting on walls,

their figures two-dimensional

and inevitably intangible.


I capture snapshots with my Nikon,

listen to Ingrid Andress on replay,

and fast forward through friends’ social

media stories like vexatious television commercials.


I’ve become a child

sucking on their own thumb,

hoping that if I slowly bide my time,

I’ll no longer make my thumb prune.

I’d rather stay in my room and binge Netflix

than glimpse real-life Barbie princesses

kissing their prince charmings in public.

If it’s not happening to me, I prefer fiction.


Time, I’ve learned, is ephemeral.

It laughs at those who try to twist the clock

and make the hands reverberate longer than should.

According to time, it’s not my turn -

not to read books with Mr. Darcy,

or to have deep conversations with Otis Milburn;

not to go to prom with Patrick Verona,

or to go ice skating with Justin Davis;

not even to kick ass with Spike

in the make-believe town of Sunnydale.

It’s just not my turn, but I’m waiting for it.


~~ Cassie Skweres, Class of '24

 

Help Allegheny students find their spark here on campus by giving support. Click the link on the right to donate.

16 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page