top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

GATOR SNAPSHORT: STRONGER TOGETHER

Updated: Aug 5, 2020


With help from Allegheny College, I’ve had the amazing opportunity to study abroad at Lancaster University in Lancaster, England. This journey was far from easy, but I’m so thankful I never gave up hope. I had to fight all kinds of personal struggles, but thanks to the unconditional love and support from the Office of Residential Life, the International Education staff, the Counseling Center and Financial Aid I was able to achieve the goal I set for myself three years ago when I began my undergrad career.


Whenever I thought about giving up, dropping my application, or just overall giving up on the possibility of going abroad, the folks at Allegheny were there to push me back on the road to making it happen. 


I have found amazing mentors who work endlessly to guide us as Allegheny students regardless of GPA or where we come from. Having only spent three months abroad my experience here has made me realize that I want to be a counselor when I graduate so I can help other people on their journeys. 


While abroad, I joined Lancaster’s Mental Health and Counseling society, a bi-weekly group that discussed what personal growth looks like. Not all of us had been raised in the same environments or had dealt with the same struggles. But rather than trying to deal with our emotional pain alone, I loved the approach of figuring out how we could support each other and grow together. For me, my growth has motivated me to spread happiness, using the tools I learned abroad and the relationships I made there and on Allegheny’s campus.


Meeting people from all over the world, and having a tiny impact on their lives by just being myself and having genuine conversations is how my study-abroad experience has made me value myself. I want to pass on this gift of sharing myself with my peers at Allegheny.  


Sometimes, though, talking isn’t as important as just listening. I’ve decided to share my story with you because you took the time to listen to me. I’m returning this story as my gift to you. See, together we already achieved something positive.

Sending Nothing but Positive Vibes!


~~ Trishann E Rice '21 Communication Arts Major/Education Studies Minor

 

IF YOU FEEL THAT ALLEGHENY COLLEGE MADE A DIFFERENCE IN YOUR LIFE TOO, SHOW IT BY CLICKING ON THE BUTTON AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN A FELLOW GATOR'S LIFE TODAY!


15 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page