top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

GATOR SNAPSHORT: GOTCHA!

Updated: Oct 21, 2020

"It isn't until you've landed on your butt that you realize what real Tailgating is!"


Image Credit: Allegheny Instagram

Turns out that lake effect snow can teach you a few things about life.

I decided to come to Allegheny College because I saw it in summer and dude, it's just beautiful then. All the flowers are blooming; the sun is shining; birds are singing. It's like a Hollywood set.


And then, your first winter, and wham! heaven freezes over. The first time you hit black ice and skid on your butt, you understand what tailgating really means.


I lay on my back as the snowflakes kept falling on my face and realized I had to get back on my feet or die. None of the students passing by, with their ear pods glued in place, seemed to notice that one of their pack was down. And then, a voice said, "Gotcha!" and a gloved hand reached out to help me back on my feet.


A semester later we're roommates and hopefully, best friends for life. When you're knocked down, you truly discover who your friends are. And, they help you get back on your feet.


But lake effect snow has also taught me how to learn to balance myself so I don't fall so often any more. And, every time I trip and fall in life, I've learned, if I reach out, I can find a helping hand...


Want to learn more about fun ways to fall? Try the Allegheny Outing Club

Story: Sam K. ('23). Undeclared.

 

LET'S PULL SOME GATORS OUT OF THE SNOW. SHOW YOU CARE ENOUGH NOT TO LEAVE THEM BEHIND. CLICK AND DONATE SO WE CAN GET EVERYONE BACK ON THEIR FEET AGAIN. THANK YOU!

1 view

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page