top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

GATOR SNAPSHORT: TURNING GREEN

Updated: Oct 21, 2020

Ever felt so jealous you felt your inner reptilian self? I did!


Image Credit: Allegheny Instagram

She was my best friend. We hung out every single moment outside of classes. We ate together, worked out together, took the loop to fetch groceries together.... you get the picture.


Then she discovered French. That's right, French! Not even a cute French guy.


Suddenly it was all "Je ne sais quoi" and language tables and "excusez-moi" instead of 'Sorry'. This, from someone whose only French reference had been Targét during our shopping sprees.


I tried to reclaim my lost place in her new rank of priorities.

"Wanna come to Brooks for lunch?"

"Pardon. Je dois aller à la table des langues,"

and she was gone in a poof of ... what else? ... French perfume.

I guess that was a no. But it was a no I could not understand.


And then, she decided to do study abroad in France. Not only did I lose my best friend but I felt my resentment turn to jealousy. Yes, I was jealous she could replace me so easily. I was as disposable as a childhood toy left out in the snow.


And the only way I can capture this feeling is with this awful French song. Aaargh!!


YouTube Video: Je suis malade Lara Fabian French and English subtitles


Story: Anonymous ('22). Communication/History

 

NO ONE LIKES BEING DISPOSABLE. LET'S SHOW THAT AT ALLEGHENY, EVERY STUDENT COUNTS. IF YOU AGREE, PLEASE CLICK AND MAKE A SMALL DONATION. IT WILL GO A LONG WAY IN MAKING A STUDENT FEEL GATOR STRONG AGAIN.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page