top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

GATOR SNAPSHORT: BLUE AS MY MOOD

Updated: Oct 21, 2020

"Sometimes the sky competes with my mood... and it almost always wins."

I've been battling with depression for over half my life now. Quietly.

It's like having a Siamese twin inside of you who you carry like a dead weight. No one can really see her. She's just a part of me. The invisible me.

And when she starts getting heavy, my moody blues can turn black. That's when I go on walks. Lots of long walks. My Siamese twin and I. And sometimes, I don't even realize I've walked into that blue night. Quite literally.

Image Credit: Allegheny Instagram


And that blue sky. That particular blue-black bruised sky. It feels me and I feel it. And the vastness of the sky and the snow captures the cold emptiness inside of me. I feel small, lost, insignificant,

And then, as the lights inside the buildings start to turn on and a yellow glow washes over the snow, I (#hope #safety #home) I realize, that the reason I am here is right in front of me.

My friends at college who won't let my Siamese twin get the better of me. They see me.


They may not realize that under my skin I am true blue. But they love me for all the shades I am and all the shade I throw. They're the Gold to my Blue.

Story: Anonymous ('22). English Lit. Major


 

WE KNOW THAT WHEREVER THERE IS A GATOR ALUMNUS, THERE IS ALWAYS A SHOULDER TO LEAN ON. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO PROP A FELLOW GATOR IN NEED, PLEASE CLICK ON THE BUTTON. THANK YOU!

3 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page