top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

GATOR SNAPSHORT: LIVING LA VIDA LOCA!

Updated: Aug 6, 2020



"I sprinted, I mean sprinted, in the pouring rain, to the Wise Center for our very first tennis match of the spring season. Not to mention, I was in an even worse mood after I lost my singles match. Looking around, I could see that my dark vibes had started to transfer to my teammates. So, of course, I brought out the 'natural cheerleader' in me to pep up my teammates who were still playing their matches.

I yelled, 'Let’s goooo, Gaby!” and “she can’t even touch the ball, Ella,' with an encouraging grin, at the top of my voice.


Suddenly, I heard a loud pointed comment from a mother on the opposite team: “This is not a football game. It's a tennis match!” It was clearly directed at my hollering self but little did she know that her disapproval had just stoked my fire.

Here's the kicker! Of course, this tennis player had pompoms in her tennis bag. 'Here we go Gators, here we go' - I bellowed, passionately shaking the pompoms. I also added a few enthusiastic cheer jumps and then began a series of 'toe touches' so that my buddies would join in too.

I can't give myself all the credit, but I would like to think that my cheering contributed to us winning that tennis match.

This story is more than just a funny anecdote I tell my family and friends. It taught me that you can’t let anyone break your stride because there will always be people trying to put you in your place. Trust yourself. Follow your heart and have fun living la vida loca!


Katherine Stancil ('23)- Bussines Major/ Math Minor

#Cheerleader#lavidaloca#tennis

Learn more about the women's tennis team @Allegheny College here.

 

CAN YOU SHOW A FELLOW GATOR THAT YOU'RE ROOTING FOR THEM BY CLICKING ON THE BUTTON AND SHOWING TEAM SPIRIT? LET'S JUST DO IT!

30 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page