top of page
  • Writer's pictureGator Quad

GATOR MEMORIES: CREATING LANDSCAPES

Updated: Aug 5, 2020


The funny thing about “defining moments” is that we sometimes fail to recognize them in real-time. Some of the most important moments come and go, but the effects must be steeped like tea. Slowly, but intentionally, something wonderful develops.

As a first-year student I wasn’t sure what I wanted to choose for my major/minor let alone my career path. It’s difficult to find an internship as a young college student with limited experience and unclear career goals. On this typical day a flyer caught my eye – an opportunity for this “Creating Landscapes” summer education internship through the DMS department, so I decided to inquire. It didn’t take long for Professor Weisman to secure my commitment.

Fast-forward to the start of the three-week internship: I wasn’t entirely sure what I’d gotten myself into. I met the other interns and staff, and introduced myself to the program Founder Director and retired Allegheny College dance faculty, Jan Hyatt . As a team we worked on setting up to welcome the students. In the preparations I had a moment to spare, so I asked Jan if there was anything I could do to help. As I sat with her to complete a task, she said something that caught me off-guard. “Sam, I think this will be a transformative experience for you.” I think I replied with something like “I sure hope so!” not consciously understanding the implication of what my new acquaintance had said. I think back and now know that she had observed my work ethic, attitude, perceptiveness, and skill, and she believed in my potential. Her confidence in me informed my experience as a Creating Landscapes intern. The words were not meant as a compliment as much as a permission to explore, make mistakes, lean into something unfamiliar.


I took risks and found a new voice which inspired a passion for experiential education. It was the subconscious drive to exceed her expectations that guided my experience. Yes, I did grow in wonderful personal development; it was a transformative experience because I was open to it.

Jan is a very special person in my life. I hold her in incredibly high esteem. It was her belief in my potential that encouraged me to flourish. If that interaction had not occurred, I wonder if my self-confidence would have carried me as far out of my comfort zone. I let myself be inspired by those around me, and took Jan’s continued belief in me to heart. The next year I proposed a new class for summer Creating Landscapes and she gave me the chance to co-teach, a decision I was told was not made lightly. The “defining moment” was continuous as the transformation did not stop after the end of the internship. The principles I learned through my two summers with Creating Landscapes have been “steeping” in my soul for years.

I’ve now been an Allegheny graduate for two years, working as a financial analyst since 2018 --- my profession is certainly not in the realm of experiential education.


The "Jan Hyatt influence", though, has suffused my adult life in other ways. For example, I now volunteer as a Playologist at the local children’s museum and hope to work to enrich children’s learning experiences for as long as I can.

I keep thinking back to that moment when Jan provided the spark that has stuck with me. The passion came from budding confidence in myself, nourished by the faith of someone I look up to. From this exercise in reflection I’ve learned that a defining moment can sometimes be appreciated more completely in retrospect. ~~ Samantha Bretz (Class of '18)

 

CREATIVITY NEEDS NOURISHMENT AND WE'RE HOPING YOU SUPPORT THE INCREDIBLE GATOR TALENT AT ALLEGHENY THROUGH THESE TOUGH TIMES. PLEASE CLICK ON THE BUTTON AND SUPPORT THIS AMAZING COMMUNITY!

5 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page